PEIinfo Logo
  Top Banner

Listings Coming Soon
 
Home
* FAQ
* Register

* Login 

Reset Password
Resend Activation Email

RSS Feed (New Posts)
RSS Feed (Replies)

Search
Lunch Specials

All Day Special Jaeuck(Pork & Rice) at Seoul Food Restaurant(Cafe) for $9.87 [Remind Me]

All Day Special Hot Hamburger at Brits Fish and Chips for $9.95 [Remind Me]

All Day Special Chicken bokkeum at Seoul Food Restaurant(Cafe) for $10.98 [Remind Me]

All Day Special Dolsot Bibimbap at Seoul Food Restaurant(Cafe) for $11.98 [Remind Me]

Add your restaurant's special!
Follow @WhatsOnSpecial!
Island Weather [Customize]
Sponsor
Island Webcam [Customize]
Island Radio
  Listen to CBC 96.1 FM
Windows M. Player
Listen to Island Radio
Winamp
Listen to K-Rock
Windows M. Player
Listen to Ocean 100
Windows M. Player

All times are UTC - 4 hours



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 4th, 2014, 9:22 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: April 12th, 2010, 7:29 am
Posts: 2240
Been with Bell for 8 years with no problems.

We bought used equipment and I did the installation, so we just pay for programming.

No problem getting additional receivers activated. I added a 3rd last summer and all it took was a call and the 'Smart Card' was in the mail a few days later.

Ed

_________________
Searching for truth with an open mind is more rewarding than belief, which by definition is unquestioning.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 7th, 2014, 8:24 pm 
Offline
True Islander
User avatar

Joined: May 4th, 2008, 2:13 am
Posts: 6458
Bell satellite and bell fiberop are two different puppies. You can't even purchase the fiberop hardware.

_________________
Linux User 412309
openSUSE-KDE give it a try today
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 8th, 2014, 9:11 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: February 25th, 2013, 8:36 pm
Posts: 1525
betamaxman wrote:
Bell satellite and bell fiberop are two different puppies. You can't even purchase the fiberop hardware.


and why would you?


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 8th, 2014, 2:38 pm 
Offline
True Islander
User avatar

Joined: May 4th, 2008, 2:13 am
Posts: 6458
In my case to save $15 plus taxes each month with fiberop. I saved $24 after taxes each month with shaw direct buying my pvr and three other receivers from a online retailer for half the price shaw or fs wanted, $450 for all, and should be able to sell them for at least $300.

_________________
Linux User 412309
openSUSE-KDE give it a try today
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 15th, 2014, 6:11 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: February 25th, 2013, 8:36 pm
Posts: 1525
Hope I can get these speeds when I'm with Eastlink

Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 15th, 2014, 6:39 pm 
Offline
True Islander

Joined: September 20th, 2011, 8:18 pm
Posts: 4181
You can get those speeds with Eastlink on the download side. They do cap you at 250gb though.
Aliant doesn't have a download cap.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 15th, 2014, 7:13 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: February 25th, 2013, 8:36 pm
Posts: 1525
Raiders wrote:
You can get those speeds with Eastlink on the download side. They do cap you at 250gb though.
Aliant doesn't have a download cap.

How does that 250gb cap work?


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 15th, 2014, 7:35 pm 
Offline
True Islander

Joined: September 20th, 2011, 8:18 pm
Posts: 4181
Gardiner wrote:
Raiders wrote:
You can get those speeds with Eastlink on the download side. They do cap you at 250gb though.
Aliant doesn't have a download cap.

How does that 250gb cap work?


You can download up to 250gb of data/month. After that it's $1 per gb.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 15th, 2014, 7:58 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: February 25th, 2013, 8:36 pm
Posts: 1525
Raiders wrote:
Gardiner wrote:
Raiders wrote:
You can get those speeds with Eastlink on the download side. They do cap you at 250gb though.
Aliant doesn't have a download cap.

How does that 250gb cap work?


You can download up to 250gb of data/month. After that it's $1 per gb.



That sounds like a pretty high cap, but then again when your downloading MKV files they could add up.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 15th, 2014, 8:38 pm 
Offline
True Islander

Joined: August 23rd, 2005, 11:52 am
Posts: 11991
Location: Summerside
Gardiner wrote:
Raiders wrote:
Gardiner wrote:
Raiders wrote:
You can get those speeds with Eastlink on the download side. They do cap you at 250gb though.
Aliant doesn't have a download cap.

How does that 250gb cap work?


You can download up to 250gb of data/month. After that it's $1 per gb.



That sounds like a pretty high cap, but then again when your downloading MKV files they could add up.

Or if you stream a lot of video with Netflix or other such services.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 15th, 2014, 8:45 pm 
Offline
Almost an Islander

Joined: June 19th, 2013, 10:43 am
Posts: 450
Location: Cyberian wilderness
Since when did "unlimited" have a cap?

I smell bait & switch.

_________________
"Live by the sword, die by the sword".
- Jesus of Nazareth, Matt. 26:52


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 16th, 2014, 2:58 pm 
Offline
True Islander
User avatar

Joined: May 4th, 2008, 2:13 am
Posts: 6458
There was no cap on my eastlink account.

_________________
Linux User 412309
openSUSE-KDE give it a try today
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 16th, 2014, 3:02 pm 
Offline
True Islander
User avatar

Joined: May 4th, 2008, 2:13 am
Posts: 6458
Gardiner wrote:
Hope I can get these speeds when I'm with Eastlink

Image

Why? When have you ever done anything that would use even a quarter of that band with, other than posting your speeds from speed test.net? :lol:

_________________
Linux User 412309
openSUSE-KDE give it a try today
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 16th, 2014, 3:52 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: February 25th, 2013, 8:36 pm
Posts: 1525
betamaxman wrote:
Gardiner wrote:
Hope I can get these speeds when I'm with Eastlink

Image

Why? When have you ever done anything that would use even a quarter of that band with, other than posting your speeds from speed test.net? :lol:


When I'm downloading a 10gb MKV file and I don't want to wait all day

Homeland S03 Season 3 Complete 720p HDTV x264-[maximersk] (Size: 10.63 GB


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 16th, 2014, 4:47 pm 
Offline
Almost an Islander

Joined: June 13th, 2013, 8:53 am
Posts: 313
Gardiner wrote:
When I'm downloading a 10gb MKV file and I don't want to wait all day

Homeland S03 Season 3 Complete 720p HDTV x264-[maximersk] (Size: 10.63 GB


Heh, try the 720 blurray rips they are twice that size.
1080p blurray rip 3rd season of Breaking bad 42gb.

Anime take up lots of gb. Netflix, games, it can easily add up. 250gb a month is nothing.

In May I used 213gb download, 52gb upload. I'm averaging 100gb per month download. If I actually had access to fast internet (not 1.5mbps), I would easily triple that bandwidth, because instead of streaming 360 youtube, it would be 720p.
And I'm not even trying to max connection nonstop. Most large download happens when sleeping.

What about people who stream 720p youtube all day?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 17th, 2014, 10:27 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: February 25th, 2013, 8:36 pm
Posts: 1525
balkoth wrote:
Gardiner wrote:
When I'm downloading a 10gb MKV file and I don't want to wait all day

Homeland S03 Season 3 Complete 720p HDTV x264-[maximersk] (Size: 10.63 GB


Heh, try the 720 blurray rips they are twice that size.
1080p blurray rip 3rd season of Breaking bad 42gb.

Anime take up lots of gb. Netflix, games, it can easily add up. 250gb a month is nothing.

In May I used 213gb download, 52gb upload. I'm averaging 100gb per month download. If I actually had access to fast internet (not 1.5mbps), I would easily triple that bandwidth, because instead of streaming 360 youtube, it would be 720p.
And I'm not even trying to max connection nonstop. Most large download happens when sleeping.

What about people who stream 720p youtube all day?




According to Eastlink's Customer Service

For customers who are in a bundle with Cable and Internet or Cable, Internet and Telephone there is no cap on the monthly usage.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 17th, 2014, 12:54 pm 
Offline
True Islander
User avatar

Joined: May 4th, 2008, 2:13 am
Posts: 6458
Gardiner wrote:
betamaxman wrote:
Gardiner wrote:
Hope I can get these speeds when I'm with Eastlink

Image

Why? When have you ever done anything that would use even a quarter of that band with, other than posting your speeds from speed test.net? :lol:


When I'm downloading a 10gb MKV file and I don't want to wait all day

Homeland S03 Season 3 Complete 720p HDTV x264-[maximersk] (Size: 10.63 GB

That file won't dl any slower with eastlinks 20mbs down, or their 15mbs for that matter. Even aliants 1.5 mbs dsl wasn't really that bad.

_________________
Linux User 412309
openSUSE-KDE give it a try today
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 17th, 2014, 1:03 pm 
Offline
True Islander

Joined: September 20th, 2011, 8:18 pm
Posts: 4181
Depends on your download service and how many files you are downloading.
I am getting max download speed of 80mbps. That would be FAR slower on the connections you mention.
Also, Eastlink uploads speeds do not come anywhere near BellAliant's.


http://www.eastlink.ca/Internet/myusage/FAQ.aspx

What are the monthly usage allowances for my Eastlink High Speed Internet service?
All our services with the exception of our 40 Mbps, 80 Mbps, 100 Mbps and 200 Mbps products have unlimited usage. These Eastlink High Speed Internet service offers a generous monthly usage allowance (combined download and upload).
40 Mbps – 250 GB
80 Mbps – 250 GB
100 Mbps – 250 GB
200 Mbps – 250 GB


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 17th, 2014, 1:29 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: February 25th, 2013, 8:36 pm
Posts: 1525
betamaxman wrote:
Gardiner wrote:
betamaxman wrote:
Gardiner wrote:
Hope I can get these speeds when I'm with Eastlink

Image

Why? When have you ever done anything that would use even a quarter of that band with, other than posting your speeds from speed test.net? :lol:


When I'm downloading a 10gb MKV file and I don't want to wait all day

Homeland S03 Season 3 Complete 720p HDTV x264-[maximersk] (Size: 10.63 GB

That file won't dl any slower with eastlinks 20mbs down, or their 15mbs for that matter. Even aliants 1.5 mbs dsl wasn't really that bad.


yeah right.....that maybe the case(although I doubt it) if that's all you were doing, but try surfing while your downloading and you'd think your were on "dial-up".....


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Switch from Bell Aliant to Eastlink
PostPosted: February 17th, 2014, 3:53 pm 
Offline
Almost an Islander

Joined: June 19th, 2013, 10:43 am
Posts: 450
Location: Cyberian wilderness
Gardiner wrote:
According to Eastlink's Customer Service

For customers who are in a bundle with Cable and Internet or Cable, Internet and Telephone there is no cap on the monthly usage.

:x Ticks me off. There's no need of that.

_________________
"Live by the sword, die by the sword".
- Jesus of Nazareth, Matt. 26:52


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 4 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group